• What Are The Classifications Of Wine?

    Wine Classification is the result of the fermentation of UVA must. The must is the juice that is obtained as a result of the grape squeezing, in other words, when the grapes are crushed, they take out juice which is left to rest in regular stainless steel tanks at a controlled temperature so that the fermentation process begins and will transform sugar into alcohol.

    Wine classification

    Regarding the classification of Australian wine, it can follow several criteria, which you should understand after going through this article.

    Type of Australian wine: This is the most natural and intuitive classification that everyone can distinguish with their naked eye.

    Wine Classification:

    They are considered quiet wines to those that do not contain either bubbles or added alcohol. Among the calm wines are red wine, white wine and rosé wine. There are that tend to be violent that once open, the bubble will start to erupt.

    Sparkling wines:

    Sparkling wines are those that have bubbles derived from their production and fermentation process. Within this category are Champagne (Originally from France, exclusively from the Champagne region), Cava (Originally from Spain), Sparkling Wine (Originating from Anglo-Saxon speaking countries), Sparkling or Frizzante (usually from Italy) and sparkling wines (Originating from Spanish-speaking countries). Some Australian wines also fall into this category.

    Generous or fortified wines:

    They are wines that are added with additional alcohol that helps to increase their period of preservation, such as Sherry, Oporto, etcetera. Depending on the manufacturer, Australian wine can also be classified as a fortified and generous wine


    In this case, the main classifications are red wine, white wine, and rosé wine. These classifications apply for both still and sparkling wines, which can usually be classified by the same colors. This is one of the most used criteria used in the classification of wine.

    Amount of Alcohol:

    Another classification has to do with the alcoholic percentage of wines. Normally white and sparkling wines are between 8 and 10 degrees of alcohol, rosé wines between 10 and 12 degrees of alcohol and red wines of 12 to 16 degrees of alcohol. The wines fortified by their characteristics have a greater amount of alcohol, starting from 16.5 degrees to more than 40 degrees, depending on the type of wine.

    CO2 level:

    This classification applies mainly to sparkling wine, which must have more than 1 ATM.

    For the Region:

    Wines are also classified by origin, divided mainly into Old World (mainly Central Europe) and New World, within which are all producing countries outside of central Europe, such as Mexico, the United States, Argentina, South Africa, Chile, Australian wine etc.

    Hopefully, this information will be useful when interacting with wine on a daily basis.

You must be 18 years old to visit this site.

Please verify your age